Meriwest CU and Patelco CU Honored with Prestigious CUNA Awards

Signs for both credit unions

The California Credit Union League would like to congratulate Patelco CU and Meriwest CU for being announced as honorees of two prestigious Credit Union National Association (CUNA) awards!

Meriwest CU has been recognized as the first-place winner in the $1 billion-in-asset and above category for the Desjardins Adult Financial Education Award (adult category). The award recognizes leadership within the credit union movement on behalf of financial literacy for members and non-members of all ages. Named after credit union pioneer Alphonse Desjardins, this award emphasizes the credit union movement's longtime commitment to financial education.

Patelco CU has been recognized as the second-place winner in the $1 billion-in-asset and above category for the Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award. This award, named for one of the original signers of the 1934 constitution that created CUNA, recognizes credit unions that do an extraordinary job incorporating credit union philosophy into daily operations.

“Congratulations to this year’s winners for their amazing work promoting financial wellbeing for all and advancing the communities they serve,” said CUNA President and CEO Jim Nussle. “These leaders and organizations truly live the credit union difference every day to benefit their members. Each winner demonstrated how they live our ‘people helping people’ motto in new and exciting ways that I hope inspires everyone in our movement."

The CUNA Awards not only offer recognition for those achievements, but honor credit unions' desire to make things better for consumers and communities. These awards represent the spirit of what credit unions are all about, as the soul of the credit union movement equates to incredible people doing remarkable things.

The CUNA National Awards Committee recently picked and announced these first, second, and third-place 2022 recipients, as well as recipients of the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award. State credit union leagues/associations across the nation select winners in various asset sizes, and these winners are then considered for the national awards.

Applications for 2023 Awards will be accepted January 1-June 30, 2023.

Pin It